Direktor des Instituts für Physiologie I  
Robert-Koch-Str. 27 a
0251 / 83-55532 (Vorzimmer: Frau Wagner)
0251 / 83-55551 (Fax)


(Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/Mario Wezel)


  • Curriculum vitae

    Academic education and degrees:

    1986 Dr. rer. nat. Degree (PhD)
    1983 – 1987 Research Associate, Section Neurophysiology, Medical Faculty, University of Essen, Germany
    1982 Diploma Biology
    1976 – 1982 Study of Biology, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany

    Scientific education and career

    since 2004 Professor and Head of Institute of Physiology I (Neurophysiology), Medical Faculty, Westfälische Wilhelms-University (WWU)
    1994 – 2004 Professor and Head of Institute of Physiology, Medical Faculty, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, Germany
    1992 Habilitation / Venia legendi in Physiology
    1989 – 1994 Assistant Professor, Institute of Neurophysiology, Medical Faculty, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
    1988 Postdoctoral Research Associate, Section of Neurobiology, Yale University, U.S.A.
    1987 Postdoctoral Research Associate, Department of Neurobiology, SUNY Stony Brook, U.S.

    Honours and special recognitions

    since 2018 President of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation    
    2016 – 2017 Chairperson of the Scientific Commission, German Council for Science and Humanities    
    2011 – 2017 Member of the German Council for Science and Humanities (“Wissenschaftsrat”)    
    since 2008 Spokesperson of the Collaborative Research Centre (SFB-TRR58) “Fear, Anxiety, Anxiety Disorders”    
    2008 Research Award of the Westfälische Wilhelms-University    
    2007 Max Planck Research Award of the Humboldt Foundation (together with Ray Dolan, University College London, U.K.)    
    2006 – 2012 Spokesperson of the Research Unit Neuromedicine, WWU    
    2006 Distinguished Teacher of the Year, Medical Faculty, WWU    
    since 2005 Member National Academy of Science “Leopoldina”    
    2001 – 2013 Local Coordinator of the Collaborative Research Centre (SFB-TRR3 “Mesial Temporallobe Epilepsies“    
    1999 – 2005 Member of the Senate of the German Research Foundation (“Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft”, DFG)    
    1999 Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Award of the DFG    
    1997 – 2004 Spokesperson of the Collaborative Research Centre (SFB 426) “Limbic Structures and Functions”    
    1997 Research Award of the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg    
    1993 Heisenberg-Stipend of the German Research Foundation (DFG)    
    1990 Bennigsen Research Award, Ministry of Research and Development NRW    

    Scientific Advisory Boards and Committees:

    since 2018 Member of the Alliance of Science Organisations
    since 2018 Member of the Managing Board and Board of Trustees of DAAD
    since 2018 Member of the Board of Trustees of Association of Sponsors for the Promotion of German Science
    since 2018 Member of the Board of Trustees of the German National Academic Foundation
    since 2018 Member of the Foundation Council and Conference of Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin
    since 2018 Member of the Program Committee of the Humboldt-Forum
    since 2018 Member of the Board of Trustees of MPI for Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden
    since 2018 Member of the Selection Committee Baden-Württemberg Fonds for Persecuted Scientists
    since 2018 Member of the Society for Promotion of the German Council for Science and Humanities
    since 2018 Member SAB German Resilience Centre Mainz
    since 2017 Member of the DFG Selection Committee “Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Award”
    since 2017 Member Governing Body University Witten/Herdecke
    since 2016 Member Research Council Westfälische Wilhelms-University Münster
    2015 – 2017 Member Strategic Commission of the German Council for Science and Humanities and the German Research Foundation
    since 2011 Member SAB Research Centre “Translational Neuroscience", Johannes-Gutenberg-University Mainz
    since 2011 Member SAB “European Neuroscience Institute“, Georg-August-University Göttingen
    since 2009 Member SAB Cluster of Excellence “Cellular Networks“, Ruprecht-Karls-University Heidelberg
    2007 Member Evaluation Board “INSERM INMED” Marseille, France
    since 2006 Member Steering Committee “Interdisciplinary Centre of Clinical Research“ WWU Münster
    2004 – 2012 Member of the DFG/DAAD Selection Committee „Promotionen an Hochschulen in Deutschland“
    2003 – 2009 Member SAB “Interdisciplinary Centre of Neuroscience“, Ruprecht-Karls-University Heidelberg
    2001 – 2009 Member SAB “Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg“ of Bremen/Niedersachsen
    2002 – 2008 Member SAB ”Neuroscientific Centre“, Humboldt-University Berlin
    2001 – 2010 Member SAB “Neuroscience Centre”, University of Helsinki, Finland


    Deutsche Physiologische Gesellschaft; Neurowissenschaftliche Gesellschaft (Foundingmember); Federation of the European Neuroscience; International Brain Organisation; New York Academy of Sciences; Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina.

    Member of Scientific Advisory Boards: Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg Bremen/Niedersachsen; Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Neurowissenschaften Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg; Neuroscience Centre, University of Helsinki, Finland; Forschungszentrum für Angewandte Neurowissenschaften, Jonannes Gutenberg-Universität MainzMember of Editorial Boards: Pflügers Archiv European Journal of Physiology; Frontiers of Cellular Neuroscience; Journal of Neurophysiology


  • 10 best publications

    1. Bartsch JC, Jamil S, Remmes J, Verma D, Pape HC (2020). Functional deletion of neuropeptide Y receptors type 2 in local synaptic networks of anteroventral BNST facilitates recall and increases return of fear. Mol Psychiatry. 2020 Jul 24. doi: 10.1038/s41380-020-0846-x.
    2. Lange MD, Daldrup T, Remmers F, Szkudlarek HJ, Lesting J, Guggenhuber S, Ruehle S, Jüngling K, Seidenbecher T, Lutz B, Pape HC (2017). Cannabinoid CB1 receptors in distinct circuits of the extended amygdala determine fear responsiveness to unpredictable threat. Mol Psychiatry.22:1422-1430. doi: 10.1038/mp.2016.156.
    3. Pape HC, Pare D (2010). Plastic synaptic networks of the amygdala for the acquisition, expression, and extinction of conditioned fear. Physiol Rev. 90:419-63. Review.
    4. Jüngling K, Seidenbecher T, Sosulina L, Lesting J, Sangha S, Clark SD, Okamura N, Duangdao DM, Xu YL, Reinscheid RK, Pape HC (2008). Neuropeptide S-mediated control of fear expression and extinction: role of intercalated GABAergic neurons in the amygdala. Neuron. 59:298-310. doi: 10.1016/j.neuron.2008.07.002
    5. Seidenbecher T, Laxmi TR, Stork O, Pape HC (2003). Amygdalar and hippocampal theta rhythm synchronization during fear memory retrieval. Science 301:846-50. doi: 10.1126/science.1085818.
    6. Budde T, Sieg F, Braunewell KH, Gundelfinger E, Pape HC (2000). Calcium-induced calcium release supports the relay mode of activity in thalamocortical cells. Neuron 26, 483-492.
    7. Pape HC, Mager R (2000). Nitric oxide controls oscillatory activity in thalamocortical neurons. Neuron 9, 441-448.
    8. Pape HC (1996). Queer current and pacemaker: the hyperpolarization-activated cation current in neurons. Ann. Rev. Physiol. 58, 299-327. Review.
    9. Pape HC, McCormick DA (1989). Norepinepherine and serotonin selectively modulate thalamic burst firing by enhancing a hyperpolarization-activated cation current. Nature 340, 715-718 (1989).
    10. McCormick DA, Pape HC (1988). Acetylcholine inhibits identified interneurons in the cat lateral geniculate nucleus. Nature 334, 246-248 (1988).

    Suche in PubMed

  • Research Projects

Hans-Christian Pape, Armin Kurtz,
Stefan Silbernagl

9. vollständig überarbeitete Auflage 2019
1032 S. , 830 Abb.
ISBN: 9783132423916