Young Academics

© WWU/Jean Marie Tronquet

A central goal of the SFB 1009 “Breaking Barriers” is to support young scientists on their way to working independently. For this purpose, three scholarships are awarded in the structured training programs "Master Experimental Medicine" and the medical college "MedK" for interested medical students to participate in the SFB projects.

Furthermore, the SFB 1009 regularly announces calls for funding for clinician scientists, which has been organized together with the research associations SFB 1450 and KFO 342 since 2020. Inquiries about this funding are always welcome - also beyond the current application period!

For flexible funding for clinician scientists, please click here [de]. (Previous announcement)

In order to facilitate networking of doctoral students of the SFB 1009, the "Breaking Barriers Young Scientists Club" was established in 2016, which a group of doctoral students founded themselves.

The annual "Münster Immunology Meeting" with presentations primarily by doctoral students and young postdocs is a very well-attended opportunity for scientific exchange through lectures and poster presentations. It has been taking place since 2013 with the participation of the SFB 1009 “Breaking Barriers”.

The Pathogen-Host Interaction Club (phi-Club), coordinated by project manager Prof. Ulrich Dobrindt (project B05) and project manager Prof. Ursula Rescher (project A06), offers lectures by renowned international speakers and an annual spring symposium (Münster Symposium on Infection Biology) at. This platform brings together researchers from the fields of infection biology, cell biology and immunology and aims to prepare graduates for work in a multidisciplinary research field.

Young Academics

© WWU/Jean Marie Tronquet

Ein zentrales Ziel des SFB 1009 „Breaking Barriers“ ist die Unterstützung junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf ihrem Weg in die Unabhängigkeit. Hierzu werden jeweils drei Stipendien in den strukturierten Ausbildungsprogrammen "Master Experimental Medicine" und dem Medizinerkolleg "MedK" für interessierte Medizinstudierende zur Mitarbeit in den SFB-Projekten vergeben.

Weiterhin schreibt der SFB 1009 regelmäßig eine Förderung für Clinician Scientists aus, die seit 2020 gemeinsam mit den Forschungsverbünden SFB 1450 und KFO 342 organisiert wird. Anfragen zu dieser Förderung sind jederzeit – auch außerhalb der laufenden Ausschreibung – herzlich willkommen!

Zur flexiblen Förderung für Clinician Scientists klicken Sie hier. (Vergangene Ausschreibung)

Speziell für den Austausch der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des SFB 1009 wurde im Jahr 2016 der "Breaking Barriers Young Scientists Club" etabliert, den eine Gruppe von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in Selbstorganisation gegründet haben.

Das jährliche „Münster Immunology Meeting“ mit Vorträgen in erster Linie von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden und jungen Postdocs ist eine sehr gut besuchte Gelegenheit zum wissenschaftlichen Austausch durch Vorträge und Posterpräsentationen. Es findet seit 2013 mit Beteiligung des SFB 1009 „Breaking Barriers“ statt.

Der Pathogen-Host Interaction Club (phi-Club), koordiniert von Projektleiter Prof. Ulrich Dobrindt (Projekt B05) und Projektleiterin Prof. Ursula Rescher (Projekt A06), bietet Vorträge renommierter internationaler Redner und ein jährliches Frühjahrssymposium (Münster Symposium on Infection Biology) an. Diese Plattform bringt Forschende aus den Bereichen Infektionsbiologie, Zellbiologie und Immunologie zusammen und soll die Absolventinnen und Absolventen auf die Arbeit in einer multidisziplinären Forschungslandschaft vorbereiten.