Martin Guilliams, PhD (Ghent University)
Martin Guilliams obtained his PhD in 2008 at the Free University of Brussels. He did his first postdoc at Centre d'Immunologie Marseille-Luminy (CIML, Marseille, France) in the lab of Bernard Malissen and his second postdoc at the Ghent University (VIB Center for Inflammation Research) in the lab of Bart Lambrecht. In 2015 he obtained a Tenure-Track Professorship from the Faculty of Science at the Ghent University. In 2017 he obtained an ERC Consolidator Grant and became an independent Principal Investigator at the VIB. He currently leads a research team that focuses on applying single-cell technologies to unravel the functional specialization of human and mouse liver myeloid cells at the VIB Center for Inflammation Research (Ghent University, Belgium). The Guilliams lab contributes to the Immgen consortium ( and to Human Cell atlas consortium ( by providing bulk and single-cell profiling of mouse and human liver myeloid cells.

Klaus Ley, MD (Immunology Center of Georgia)
Klaus Ley obtain his MD from the University of Würzburg, Germany. In 1994 he became Professor at the University of Virginia 1994 and was director of the Robert M Berne Cardiovascular Research Center from 2001-2007.  From 2007 to 2022 he was Professor at the La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology. Since 2022 he is Co-Director of the Immunology Center of Georgia. For his research he received several prestigious awards, including the Bonazinga Award (2008), the Malpighi Award (2010), the Koehler Inflammation Award (2015), and the Landis Award (2017). He was also named Distinguished Scientist by the American Heart Association (2016). He studies integrin activation in inflammatory cells and the autoimmune response to APOB in order to develop a vaccine for atherosclerosis.

Mihai Netea, MD (Radboud University Nijmegen)
Mihai Netea was born and studied medicine in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. He completed his PhD at the Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, on studies investigating the cytokine network in sepsis. After working as a post-doc at the University of Colorado, he returned to Nijmegen where he finished his clinical training as an infectious diseases specialist, and where he currently heads the division of Experimental Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, Nijmegen University Nijmegen Medical Center. He is mainly interested in understanding the memory traits of innate immunity (trained immunity), the factors influencing variability of human immune responses, and the immune dysregulation during bacterial and fungal infections. He is the recipient of the Spinoza Prize 2016 and an ERC Advanced grant in 2019, and since 2016 he is a member of the Netherlands Royal Academy of Sciences (KNAW).

Karin De Visser, PhD (The Netherlands Cancer Institute)
Karin E. de Visser obtained her PhD at the Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI) in Amsterdam in the field of tumor immunotherapy. From 2003-2005 she worked as a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Prof. dr. Lisa Coussens at UCSF, where she developed an active interest in the interplay between the adaptive and innate immune system during cancer development. In 2005 returned to the NKI, where she expanded her research direction into the field of inflammation and mammary carcinogenesis. Currently she is senior group leader at the Division of Tumor Biology & Immunology, alongside her appointment as group leader at Oncode Institute and as professor of Experimental Immunobiology of Cancer at Leiden University. She is mainly interested in the mechanisms by which the immune system influences metastatic breast cancer. She received an ERC consolidator grant in 2014 and a NWO-VICI grant in 2019, she is recipient of the 2015 Metastasis Research Prize of the Beug Foundation, and since 2021 she is EMBO member.

Sussan Nourshargh, PhD (University of London)
Sussan Nourshargh is a pharmacologist who studied at University College London (BSc) and King’s College London (PhD) and became Professor of Immunopharmacology at Imperial College London in 2006. In 2007 she joined Barts and The London Medical School, Queen Mary, University of London, UK, to establish and head a new Centre focusing on Microvascular Research. Her research, largely funded by the Wellcome Trust and MRC, aims to unravel the molecular and cellular events involved in leukocyte trafficking. Specifically, through the application of high resolution in vivo imaging modalities she has made seminal contributions to the field of neutrophil transmigration for which her group is internationally respected.
Sussan Nourshargh is Fellow of the UK Academy of Medical Sciences and British Pharmacological Society and has acted as committee member for numerous national and international funding bodies, societies, editorial and scientific advisory boards.

Sarah Walmsley, MD (University of Edinburgh)
Sarah Walmsley is a Wellcome Senior Clinical Fellow and Professor of Respiratory Medicine, University of Edinburgh, Honorary Consultant Physician, NHS Lothian and Co-Director of the Edinburgh Clinical Academic Training Scheme.  She undertook her medical training at the University of Edinburgh graduating in 1997, and an MRC training fellowship at the University of Cambridge with her PhD having been awarded in 2004. Her specialist training in Respiratory Medicine was in Sheffield, where she also held a Wellcome Intermediate Fellowship. During this time, she had two periods of maternity leave. She is currently based in the Centre for Inflammation Research in Edinburgh.  Her work is focused on understanding how local oxygen and nutrient availability in the inflamed environment can reprogram neutrophil behaviour in both acute and chronic inflammatory lung disease states.