2nd Young Scientist Club of the SFB 1009 gave detailed insights

v.l.n.r: Michelle Fennen, Dr. Agnes Musiol (Sacura GmbH), Dipl.-Biol. Karen Heidemann (mibeg-Institut Medizin), Denise Pajonczyk, Sebastian Schloer, Vanessa Kracke, Janine Wilden.

PhD!..and what comes next?? One of the main questions for doctoral students in the late doctoral phase or early postdoctoral phase. With the help of this event last Wednesday in the auditorium of the MPI, the YSC Orga team offered the young scientific doctoral students a deeper insight into career and advanced education options within the field of biology. The expert Mrs. Heidemann from the Cologne training institute mibeg as well as a former doctoral student from ZMBE Dr. Agnes Musiol and consultant of the Career Service and the Graduate Center of the WWU were invited.

The small, career-specific panorama was well received by all those interested. Mrs. Heidemann from the mibeg Institute gave an impression of the world of clinical research and gave many new impulses for thought. Agnes Musiol, clinical study manager at Sacura GmbH and former PhD student at the ZMBE, who attended a seminar at the mibeg Institute after graduating, was also able to use her experience to help many people overcome uncertainty and open up new perspectives.

Dr. Jan Schmidt from the Graduate Center of the WWU showed, very interactively, the interested participants new methods to explore their own personality and values in order to then find the best profession for a self.

All in all, the second meeting of the Young Scientist Club was very well received and provided extensive perspectives for one's own professional career.
Responsible for the organization of the YSC: Sebastian Schloer and Denise Pajonczyk, Institute of Medical Biochemistry (ZMBE) and Janine Wilden, Institute of Virology (ZMBE) and Michelle Fennen and Vanessa Kracke, Institute of Musculoskeletal Medicine (Department of Molecular Medicine).

Successful start of the first meeting of the SFB 1009 Young Scientist Club

From left to right: Sebastian Schloer, Janine Wilden, Prof. Dr. Oliver Planz (University of Tübingen), Vanessa Kracke, Christin Bruchhagen, Denise Pajonczyk and Michelle Fennen
Medical drug development was the main topic on Thursday in the castle. In the Senate Hall, the Young Scientist Club of the SFB 1009, organized by PhD students for PhD students, met for the first time. "We wanted to create a platform in which young scientists can get to know each other better and exchange ideas," says Sebastian Schloer, member of the organisation team.
The guest speaker was Professor Dr. Oliver Planz from the University of Tubingen and co-founder of Atriva Therapeutics GmbH. He reported, vividly and enthusiastically, about his career and his experience in the field of drug development and company foundation. The hall was full, so it could be said that it met the interest of many young scientists. "Excellent, a very fascinating contribution and something completely different than usual" reports Michelle Fennen, also a member of the organisation team.
In addition to the guest speaker Prof. Dr. Oliver Planz, there were other method-oriented contributions from doctoral students within the SFB1009 to give the members of the club an insight into their own research, but also to give them an impression of the spectrum of methods and problem-solving approaches. "The Young Scientist Club is an important new approach to give doctoral students the opportunity to create their own cooperations and/or networks in order to promote their independence as well as their own research," says Denise Pajonczyk, from the organisation team.
Thanks to the great popularity, the organisation team is all the more motivated and ready for the 2nd SFB1009 Young Scientist Club on 12 September 2018, this time in the auditorium of the MPI Münster. Once again, as at the 1st YSC, all interested young scientists are cordially invited to participate.
The YSC was organized by Sebastian Schloer and Denise Pajonczyk from the Institute of Medical Biochemistry (ZMBE), Dr. Christin Bruchhagen and Janine Wilden from the Institute of Virology (ZMBE), Michelle Fennen and Vanessa Kracke from the Institute of Musculoskeletal Medicine (Dept. Molecular Medicine).

2. Young Scientist Club des SFB 1009 ergab vertiefende Einblicke

v.l.n.r: Michelle Fennen, Dr. Agnes Musiol (Sacura GmbH), Dipl.-Biol. Karen Heidemann (mibeg-Institut Medizin), Denise Pajonczyk, Sebastian Schloer, Vanessa Kracke, Janine Wilden.

PhD!...und was dann? Einer der Hauptfragen für Doktoranden in der späten Promotion Phase bzw. frühen PostDoc-Phase. Mit Hilfe dieser Veranstaltung am letzten Mittwoch im Auditorium am MPI, wollte das YSC-Orga-Team den jungen naturwissenschaftlichen Doktoranden einen vertiefenden Einblick, in die Karriere- und Fortbildungsoptionen im Bereich Biologie geben. Dafür war die Expertin Frau Heidemann aus dem Kölner Fortbildungsinstitut mibeg, sowie eine ehemalige Doktorandin vom ZMBE Dr. Agnes Musiol und Berater des Career Service und dem Graduate Center der WWU geladen.
Der kleine Karriere-spezifische Rundumblick kam bei allen Interessierten gut an. Die Frau Heidemann vom mibeg-Institut vermittelte einen Eindruck in die Welt der klinischen Forschung und gab viele neue Denkanstöße. Ebenso Agnes Musiol, clinical study manager der Sacura GmbH und ehemalige Dotorandin am ZMBE, die nach der Promotion ein Seminar des mibeg-Instituts besuchte, konnte mit Ihrer Erfahrung vielen die Unsicherheit nehmen und neue Perspektiven aufzeigen.
Dr. Jan Schmidt vom Graduate Center der WWU eröffnete, ganz interaktiv, den interessierten Teilnehmern neue Methoden um die eigene Persönlichkeit und Werte zu ergründen um dann den besten Berufszweig für einen Selbst zu finden.

Alles in Allem kam auch das zweite Treffen des Young Scientist Club sehr gut an und vermittelte Umfangreiche Perspektiven für die eigene berufliche Karriere.

Für die Organisation des YSC verantwortlich waren: Sebastian Schloer und Denise Pajonczyk, Institut für Medizinische Biochemie (ZMBE) sowie Janine Wilden, Institut für Virologie (ZMBE) und Michelle Fennen und Vanessa Kracke, Institut für Muskuloskelettale Medizin (Abt. Molekulare Medizin).

1. Meeting des Young Scientist Club des SFB 1009 ein voller Erfolg

v.l.n.r: Sebastian Schloer, Janine Wilden, Prof. Dr. Oliver Planz (Universität Tübingen), Vanessa Kracke, Christin Bruchhagen, Denise Pajonczyk und Michelle Fennen

Medical drug development war das Hauptthema am Donnerstag im Schloss. Im Senatsaal traf sich, das erste Mal, der Young Scientists Club des SFB 1009, organsiert von Doktoranden für Doktoranden. „Wir wollten eine Plattform schaffen, in der sich junge Wissenschaftler untereinander besser kennenlernen und austauschen können“ sagt Sebastian Schloer, Mitglied des Organisationsteams.
Gastredner war Professor Dr. Oliver Planz von der Universität Tübingen und Mitgründer der Atriva Therapeutics GmbH. Er berichtete, anschaulich und mitreißend, über seinen Werdegang und über seine Erfahrung im Bereich Medikamentenentwicklung und Firmengründung. Damit traf er genau das Interesse vieler junger Wissenschaftler, der Saal war voll. „Hervorragend, ein ganz faszinierender Beitrag und mal was ganz anderes als sonst“ wertet Michelle Fennen, ebenfalls Mitglied des Organisationsteams.
Neben dem Gastredner Prof. Dr. Oliver Planz, gab es noch weitere methodenorientierte Beiträge von Doktoranden innerhalb des SFB1009, um den Mitgliedern des Clubs einen Einblick in die eigene Forschung zu geben, aber auch um einen Eindruck des Methodenspektrums bzw. für Problemlösungsansätze zu vermitteln. „Der Young Scientist Club ist ein wichtiger neuer Ansatz, um Doktoranden die Möglichkeit zu geben, eigene Kooperationen und/oder Netzwerke zu schaffen und damit die Selbstständigkeit, aber auch die eigene Forschung voranzubringen“ sagt Denise Pajonczyk, aus dem Organisationsteam.
Dank des großen Zuspruchs, ist das Organisationsteam umso mehr motiviert und bereit für den 2. SFB1009 Young Scientists Club am 12.September 2018, diesmal im Auditorium im MPI Münster. Wo auch wieder, wie auch beim 1. YSC, alle interessierten jungen Nachwuchs-Naturwissenschaftler herzlich eingeladen sind daran teilzunehmen.
Für die Organisation des YSC verantwortlich waren: Sebastian Schloer und Denise Pajonczyk, Institut für Medizinische Biochemie (ZMBE) sowie Dr. Christin Bruchhagen und Janine Wilden, Institut für Virologie (ZMBE) und Michelle Fennen und Vanessa Kracke, Institut für Muskuloskelettale Medizin (Abt. Molekulare Medizin).