2nd Young Scientist Club of the SFB 1009 gave detailed insights

v.l.n.r: Michelle Fennen, Dr. Agnes Musiol (Sacura GmbH), Dipl.-Biol. Karen Heidemann (mibeg-Institut Medizin), Denise Pajonczyk, Sebastian Schloer, Vanessa Kracke, Janine Wilden.

PhD!..and what comes next?? One of the main questions for doctoral students in the late doctoral phase or early postdoctoral phase. With the help of this event last Wednesday in the auditorium of the MPI, the YSC Orga team offered the young scientific doctoral students a deeper insight into career and advanced education options within the field of biology. The expert Mrs. Heidemann from the Cologne training institute mibeg as well as a former doctoral student from ZMBE Dr. Agnes Musiol and consultant of the Career Service and the Graduate Center of the WWU were invited.

The small, career-specific panorama was well received by all those interested. Mrs. Heidemann from the mibeg Institute gave an impression of the world of clinical research and gave many new impulses for thought. Agnes Musiol, clinical study manager at Sacura GmbH and former PhD student at the ZMBE, who attended a seminar at the mibeg Institute after graduating, was also able to use her experience to help many people overcome uncertainty and open up new perspectives.

Dr. Jan Schmidt from the Graduate Center of the WWU showed, very interactively, the interested participants new methods to explore their own personality and values in order to then find the best profession for a self.

All in all, the second meeting of the Young Scientist Club was very well received and provided extensive perspectives for one's own professional career.
Responsible for the organization of the YSC: Sebastian Schloer and Denise Pajonczyk, Institute of Medical Biochemistry (ZMBE) and Janine Wilden, Institute of Virology (ZMBE) and Michelle Fennen and Vanessa Kracke, Institute of Musculoskeletal Medicine (Department of Molecular Medicine).

Successful start of the first meeting of the SFB 1009 Young Scientist Club

From left to right: Sebastian Schloer, Janine Wilden, Prof. Dr. Oliver Planz (University of Tübingen), Vanessa Kracke, Christin Bruchhagen, Denise Pajonczyk and Michelle Fennen
Medical drug development was the main topic on Thursday in the castle. In the Senate Hall, the Young Scientist Club of the SFB 1009, organized by PhD students for PhD students, met for the first time. "We wanted to create a platform in which young scientists can get to know each other better and exchange ideas," says Sebastian Schloer, member of the organisation team.
The guest speaker was Professor Dr. Oliver Planz from the University of Tubingen and co-founder of Atriva Therapeutics GmbH. He reported, vividly and enthusiastically, about his career and his experience in the field of drug development and company foundation. The hall was full, so it could be said that it met the interest of many young scientists. "Excellent, a very fascinating contribution and something completely different than usual" reports Michelle Fennen, also a member of the organisation team.
In addition to the guest speaker Prof. Dr. Oliver Planz, there were other method-oriented contributions from doctoral students within the SFB1009 to give the members of the club an insight into their own research, but also to give them an impression of the spectrum of methods and problem-solving approaches. "The Young Scientist Club is an important new approach to give doctoral students the opportunity to create their own cooperations and/or networks in order to promote their independence as well as their own research," says Denise Pajonczyk, from the organisation team.
Thanks to the great popularity, the organisation team is all the more motivated and ready for the 2nd SFB1009 Young Scientist Club on 12 September 2018, this time in the auditorium of the MPI Münster. Once again, as at the 1st YSC, all interested young scientists are cordially invited to participate.
The YSC was organized by Sebastian Schloer and Denise Pajonczyk from the Institute of Medical Biochemistry (ZMBE), Dr. Christin Bruchhagen and Janine Wilden from the Institute of Virology (ZMBE), Michelle Fennen and Vanessa Kracke from the Institute of Musculoskeletal Medicine (Dept. Molecular Medicine).